The Thrill of the Hunt

Posted: September 8, 2010 in Geocaching Beginners, Tips and Advice
Tags: , , , , , ,

A geocache in Butler, PA

Geocaches are everywhere. We probably walk by them everyday without even knowing they exist. In my opinion, they serve one important purpose: To stop and realize the little things in life.

When I go geocaching, there are a few things I keep in mind:

1. Don’t look obvious. Wandering around aimlessly with a GPS in front of your face can make you look suspicious to non-geocachers (aka “Muggles”). If you’re searching in a high-populated area, you must be stealthy and act natural.

2. It’s not about what you find. The trinkets and logbook that are stashed inside a geocache are fun to look at, but that’s not the reason I enjoy geocaching. It’s about the thrill of hunting for buried treasure, and the satisfaction of the find.

3. Relax and enjoy your surroundings. Geocaching is meant to share beautiful,scenic views with others who want to experience your favorite places. After finding the cache you’ve worked hard to find, take a moment to look around and enjoy the destination.

A geocache in Butler, PA

New to Geocaching?

Here are some things you’ll need:

  • A pen or pencil to sign logbooks
  • Sneakers
  • Plenty of water
  • Trade items to leave inside a geocache

That’s it! So what are you waiting for? Get outside and start exploring!

What do you think?

What items do you bring when you go geocaching? Leave a comment and let me know!

    Comments
    1. ErikaJean says:

      I’m thinking hiking boots instead of sneakers…and a first aide kit is never a bad idea.

    2. Paurian says:

      I wish I were as discrete. I’ll look in the area nonchalantly for about five minutes before I get impatient … and if the cache was muggled, look out! You’ll have me jumping into park trees and digging at the ground like a chipmunk by the time fifteen minutes is over.

    3. […] interesting for new geocachers as well as for the well-experienced. I think my post labeled “The Thrill of the Hunt” pretty much sums up my entire view on geocaching. It gives my opinion about why geocaching […]

    4. dreamcatchwriter says:

      I think I’ll need to work on the “acting natural” part and not having my GPS in front of my nose. Thanks for the tips 🙂

    Leave a Reply

    