The Little Things

Posted: November 15, 2010 in Geocaching Adventures
Tags: ,

With final exams and projects slowly approaching, I decided I needed a little geocaching “TLC” to brighten my day. After realizing I haven’t been on a geocaching excursion in a while, I decided to track one down not too far from Arizona State University on the Tempe Campus. When I turned on my GPS, I discovered I was only 500 feet from a geocache – and I zeroed in on it shortly after!

This cache, (GC21FWF) creatively named “Get Your Daley Drink”, is located in a busy Tempe park named Daley Park. It was fairly easy to find and I spotted it from several feet away. I grabbed the cache, took it over to the nearest park bench, and examined the items stashed inside.

An official geocaching pencil, a marble, a dice dradle, a donkey travel bug, and a smiley face coin graced me with their presence when I opened up the cache. However, the most important element I found was the log book. I signed it, dated it, and put it back in the container. Although it doesn’t seem like a big deal, finding a simple treasure in the midst of my busy day allows me to unwind and realize how the little things make an important impact on my life.

How do you unwind after a stressful day? I’d love to hear from you!

Comments
  1. Scott says:

    I also find that spending a few minutes during lunch or after work finding a geocache affords me a bit of respite from what may be a stressful or busy day.

    It’s also a nice social activity. Asking a friend if they want to go for a walk will get more no responses than asking if they want to find a couple of geocaches.

Leave a Reply

